A- A A+


The Governing body of the Nigerian Communications Commission consists of a board of nine Commissioners; made up of six Non-executive members, including the Chairman - representing each of the six Geopolitical Zones of Nigeria - and three Executive members, including the Executive Vice Chairman/Chief Executive and two Executive Commissioners.

Prof. Umar Garba Danbatta is the Executive Vice Chairman (Chief Executive Officer) of the Nigerian Communications Commission. Prior to his nomination by President Muhammadu Buhari GCFR, Professor Danbatta, a veteran lecturer of Telecommunications & Electronics Engineering at Bayero University Kano (BUK), was the Acting Vice-Chancellor of the Kano University of Science & Technology, Wudil. A COREN registered engineer and member of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE), he has served as Vice  President  of  the  Digital  Bridge  Institute  (DBI) - International Centre for Advanced Communications Studies, and Director of the Centre for Information Technology at BUK, among others.

Engr. Ubale A. Maska is the Executive Commissioner (Technical Services) of the Nigerian Communications Commission. He was confirmed to his post by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the 28th of November 2013. Immediately prior to his nomination by President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, Engr. Maska served as the Director - Compliance Monitoring & Enforcement. Prior to that, he served as Deputy Director of the Engineering, and Technical Research & Standards Directorates, and as Head of Cyber Security in the New Media & Information Security Department.

Mr. Sunday Akin Dare is the Executive Commissioner (Stakeholder Management) of the Nigerian Communications Commission. Prior to his nomination by President Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR), Mr. Dare had amassed over twenty five years experience as an internationally recognized author, and multimedia journalist. His experience includes heading the production of news and programs for the Hausa Service of Voice of America (VOA) in Washington DC, and subsequently serving as Chief of Staff and Media Adviser to both the Governor of Lagos and the Minister of Information & Communications.