The Federal Republic of Nigeria

NCC graces National Assembly lecture
Click to view pictures.
The Executive Vice Chairman of the Nigerian Communications Commission (NCC), Prof. Umar Garba Danbatta, yesterday July 29th attended the 2nd annual Public Lecture organised by the National Assembly's monthly publication - Legislative Digest.

The lecture, with the theme: "20 Years of the National Assembly in the Fourth Republic: The Tasks Ahead of the 9th National Assembly" held at the NAF Conference Centre, Kado, Abuja.

Represented by the Director, Public Affairs of the Commission, Dr. Henry Nkemadu, Danbatta said NCC's participation was in appreciation of the Assembly's commitment to openness through the magazine publication and intellectual engagement of stakeholders on national issues.

Danbatta also noted that the Commission's attendance at such important forum was in line with Item Five of the NCC's 8-Point Agenda, which speaks to its vision to strategic collaboration and partnership.
He said through the vision, the NCC seeks to foster avenue for synergy with government Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs), communities and relevant local and international non-state actors to advance the use of ICT for Development (ICT4Dev) for improvement of security and education, among others.

The occasion chaired by Anyim Pius Anyim, former President of the Senate, featured keynote address by Senator Jonathan Zwingina, former Chairman, Senate Committee on Media and Publicity; panel discussion and awards presentation to two former Senate Presidents – Dr. Joseph Wayas (1979-1983 and Ken Nnamani (2005-2007) and five past Clerks of the National Assembly for their meritorious service to nation building.

The past Clerks, who received the awards include Dr. Mohammed Adamu Fika (190-1994); Ibrahim Salim (1994-2005); Nasiru Ibrahim Arab (2005-2010); Asiwaju Oluyemi Ogunyomi (Jan. 2010- Aug. 2010); and Dr. Salisu Abubakar Maikasuwa (2010-2016).
Also in attendance was Festus Dawodu, Permanent Secretary, Special Duties, Office of Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), representatives of security chiefs, senior officials from within National Assembly, MDAs, among others.